Monday, 30 January 2017

San Francisco

On 30 January 1847 the settlement of Yerba Buena was renamed San Francisco

Sunday, 29 January 2017

Friday, 27 January 2017


The first man to actually see the continent of Antarctica was an Estonian named Fabian von Bellinngsingshausen on 27 January 1820.  But he didn't actually land. Who the first person was to set foot on Antarctica is a matter of debate.  

Thursday, 26 January 2017


On 26 January 1788 the first European settlers landed at Port Jackson in Australia

Tuesday, 24 January 2017

California Gold Rush

On 24 January 1848 James Marshall struck gold at Sutters Mill in California beginning the California gold rush.

Thursday, 19 January 2017

James Watt

The great engineer James Watt was born on 19 January 1736. Although he didn't actually invent the steam engine he greatly improved it.  

Monday, 16 January 2017

The TV Dinner

I found an interesting article about the evolution of the TV Dinner 

Little known inventors

Today I will celebrate some little known inventors. Benjamin Waddy Maughan invented the gas water heater in 1868. Edwin Ruud invented the electric hot water heater in 1889. Thomas Ahearn invented the electric car heater in 1890. Meanwhile The electric fan was invented in 1882 by Dr Schuyler Wheeler Frank W Wolfe invented the fridge for use in the home in 1913. 

Saturday, 14 January 2017

Queen Elizabeth I myth

When she was dying Queen Elizabeth I is supposed to have said 'All my possessions for a moment of time'. But its a myth. Nobody knows what the last thing she said was. I found this interesting quiz:  

Friday, 13 January 2017

Saturday, 7 January 2017

Catherine of Aragon

Catherine of Aragon, 1st wife of Henry VIII died 7 January 1536. She was a highly educated woman. In 1513 Henry was at war with France. He made his wife Catherine regent and captain-general of the armed forces in England in his absence  

Wednesday, 4 January 2017

Tuesday, 3 January 2017