Translate

Monday, 28 September 2015

English surnames



This is my video about the origin of English surnames

Wednesday, 23 September 2015

Monday, 21 September 2015

Sunday, 20 September 2015

Wednesday, 16 September 2015

Monday, 14 September 2015

Sunday, 13 September 2015

Quebec

On 13 September 1759 General Wolfe defeated the French at Quebec ensuring Canada became British. www.localhistories.org/canada

Saturday, 12 September 2015

First Policewoman

On 12 September 1910 Mrs Alice Stebbin Wells became the first policewoman in the world, in Los Angeles. 

Sunday, 6 September 2015

Telephone Exchange

On 6 September 1879 the first telephone exchange in Britain opened in Britain in London 3 years after the telephone was invented. www.localhistories.org/communications 

Friday, 4 September 2015

Thursday, 3 September 2015

The battle of Worcester

On 3 September 1651 the army of Charles II was totally defeated at the battle of Worcester. Charles himself managed to escape. www.localhistories.org/worcester