Monday, 30 June 2014

North End

I made a video about the history of North End in Portsmouth 

Thursday, 26 June 2014

Wednesday, 25 June 2014

Little Big Horn

On 25 June 1876 the Native Americans won a great victory at the battle of Little Big Horn.

Friday, 20 June 2014


I wrote a little history of Uruguay. Its a poor country and it has a tragic past but recently the economy has been growing strongly and there is reason to be optimistic for its future. 

Thursday, 19 June 2014


On 19 June 1829 Robert Pool founded the first modern police force in London. They were called bobbies or peelers after him 

Tuesday, 17 June 2014

Sunday, 15 June 2014

Magna Carta

On this day in 1215 King John sealed the Magna Carta. Its the foundation of all our freedoms so I think we should call this Magna Carta Day.

Friday, 13 June 2014

Last hanging

The last aristocrat to be hanged in England was Laurence Shirley, Earl Ferrers in 1760 

Tuesday, 10 June 2014

Monday, 9 June 2014

Charles Dickens

9 June 1870 was a sad day for Portsmouth. Our most famous son, Charles Dickens died. 

Saturday, 7 June 2014

Thursday, 5 June 2014


A gentleman sent me an article about Luddites in Huddersfield, Yorkshire.

Monday, 2 June 2014


The great Canadian city of Edmonton began as a trading post called Fort Edmonton, built in 1795. It was named after Edmonton in England, which was then a town north of London. However in the late 19th century the settlement began to spread outside the fort. Then in 1892 Edmonton was incorporated as a town and in 1904 it was incorporated as a city. Despite its small size Edmonton was chosen to be the capital of Alberta in 1905.