Translate

Friday, 17 November 2017

Queen Mary

On 17 November Queen Mary died. She was the first woman to rule the whole of England www.localhistories.org/mary.html 

Thursday, 16 November 2017

Sunday, 12 November 2017

King Canute

The great king Canute died on 12 November 1035. Not only was he king of England he was also king of Denmark and Norway. www.localhistories.org/canute.html

Wednesday, 8 November 2017

Edmund Halley

Edmund Halley the great astronomer with a comet named after him was born on 8 November 1656 www.localhistories.org/halley.html 

Tuesday, 7 November 2017

Marie Curie

The great scientist Marie Curie was born on 7 November 1867 (She was born Marya Skoldowska in Warsaw, Poland) www.localhistories.org/curie.html 

Monday, 6 November 2017

Sunday, 5 November 2017

Thursday, 2 November 2017

Monday, 30 October 2017

Women's Education

On 30 October 1838 Oberlin College became the first US institution to admit women to study for degrees. www.localhistories.org/womensedtime.html 

Wednesday, 25 October 2017

Thursday, 19 October 2017

Yorktown

On 19 October 1781 a British army surrendered at Yorktown during the American War of Independence ensuring US independence http://www.localhistories.org/colonialamerica.html

Wednesday, 18 October 2017

Alaska Day

18 October is Alaska Day. On 18 October 1867 Alaska ceased to belong to Russia and it passed to the USA. Happy Alaska Day all Alaskans. www.localhistories.org/alaska.html

Monday, 16 October 2017

Jadwiga

On 16 October 1384 a woman named Jadwiga was crowned KING of Poland to make it clear she ruled in her own right. She wasn't a queen just because she married a king. www.localhistories.org/womenrulers 

Ether

Man of the day: On 16 October 1846 American dentist T G Morton used ether in an operation to remove a tumour on a jaw www.localhistories.org/surgery.html

Saturday, 14 October 2017

Battle of Hastings

On 14 October 1066 the Normans won the battle of Hastings, changing English and so world history forever. www.localhistories.org/battle.html

Tuesday, 10 October 2017

Sunday, 8 October 2017

Chicago fire

On 8 October 1871 a dreadful fire began in Chicago which devastated the city. www.localhistories.org/chicago.html

Saturday, 7 October 2017

Lepanto

On 7 October 1571 a Christian fleet crushed the Turkish fleet at the battle of Lepanto. 12,000 Christian galley slaves were set free. www.localhistories.org/world.html

Friday, 6 October 2017

Wednesday, 4 October 2017

Monday, 2 October 2017

Texas rebels

Texas rose in rebellion in 1835. The Mexicans tried to take back a cannon that had been given for defense against Native Americans. The Texans refused to let the Mexicans take it. On 2 October 1835 they flew a flag with the words 'come and take it' and they repulsed a group of Mexican soldiers. www.localhistories.org/texas.html

Sunday, 17 September 2017

Hildegard

Hildegard died on 17 September 1179. She was a great woman writer and scholar of the Middle Ages www.localhistories.org/hildegard.html

Saturday, 16 September 2017

The Mayflower

On 16 September 1620 a group of people set sail from Plymouth for the New World in a ship called the Mayflower http://www.localhistories.org/colonial.html 

Friday, 15 September 2017

Tanks 1916

On 15 September 1916 tanks were used for the first time. The British used them on the Somme. www.localhistories.org/first.html  

Thursday, 14 September 2017

Famous Women in History

Its a myth there were no great or influential women before the 19th century. I made a video about 50 of them. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=grmTVzb5PCc

Wednesday, 13 September 2017

Quebec

On 13 September 1759 General Wolfe won a decisive victory at Quebec ensuring Canada became British http://www.localhistories.org/canada.html

Saturday, 9 September 2017

Wednesday, 30 August 2017